Sunday, 20 October 2013

Shane Watson

Born on June 17, 1981 at Ipswich, Queensland
Right Handed Batsman  and  Right-arm fast-medium bowler
First International against South Africa on Mar 24, 2002
Nickname is Watto.

Early Life

Watson was an AIS Australian Cricket Academy scholarship holder in 2000. He started his first-class cricketing career for Tasmania after leaving his home state of Queensland, but returned to play for his native Queensland as his international career was beginning. He has also played for Hampshire in the English County Championship in 2005. He regards Terry Alderman as one of his mentors.Watson was selected for his first Australian team in early 2002, being selected to tour South Africa with the Test team after topping the Pura Cup wicket-taking charts for Tasmania, as well as steady middle-order batting performances. Australian captain at the time Steve Waugh stated that Watson would possibly be Australia's first genuine all rounder.

Personal and Love Life

Watto with his wife Lee and son Will

Watson's wife Lee Furlong, whom he married on 3 June 2010, is a Fox Sports Australia presenter.Some facts about Watto-
1.Favorite ground
2.All time favourite cricketer
   -Viv Richards
3.When Watto was a kid who’s poster did he had up on your wall
   -Steve Waugh , Mark Waugh and Brian Lara
4.Favourite sport besides cricket
   -Rugby Union
5.One Indian dish that he likes to eat
    -Dal makhni.


Watson endorses GM

According to Forbes, Watson is the highest paid cricketer outside of India, earning over US$5.9 million in 2012.Watson played in the Indian Premier League for the Rajasthan Royals team and has signed up for US $125,0000.
Total Earnings: $5.9 million
Cricket Pay: $2.9 million
Endorsements: $3 million
IPL Team: Rajasthan Royals(US $125,0000)
Major Sponsors: Gunn & Moore, Asics, TAG Heuer.


Watson with Allan Border Medal

Watson has bagged -
Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year - 2002
One-Day International Player of the Year - 2011, 2012
Test Player of the Year - 2011
Allan Border Medal - 2010,2011
Twenty20 Player of the Year - 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment